Allegiant Book Review

I’m not going to lie and say all 526 pages of Veronica Roth’s Allegiant were breathtaking, because that would be a lie.

I’m not going to lie and say all 526 pages of Veronica Roth’s Allegiant were breathtaking, because that would be a lie. I will say however, that Roth did use some very great writing to create this book. It was fun and action-packed and probably made some of the more sensitive souls cry at the end.

SPOILER ALERT! Stop reading this review now if you haven’t read this book yet.

Did I cry at the end of this story? Naw, my soul has been callused by years of book reading, so this is nothing. But Tris’s death still was refreshing. I don’t mean to sound so dead inside, but it’s true. Compared to many books that I’ve read recently, this story had a fresh ending. You see too often in this type of novel that the main character lives happily ever after; maybe a few supporting characters killed off, but all’s well. Roth exploited Tris’s fault of being protective and selfless, a characteristic that we had admired in the first two books. I certainly will never be as much of an Abnegation as Beatrice Prior, but I do aspire to be that caring. Tris had no reason to surrender herself for the good of her people, it was obvious that Caleb had debts to pay and that he should be the hero. But for the good of the story, the main character would be more fitting to be our heroine. This ending overall was a bit heart-aching, especially with the pain that Tobias felt after her death, but was very well thought out. Tris’s death taught us a valuable lesson about life and death. The quote about her death, in Roth’s words, was written as followed: “I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.”

Now for the bad stuff about this book. I don’t want to be so harsh about this, but Allegiant left a lot to be desired with Tobias and Tris’s relationship. Although they did stay together strong in the end, it was quite a mundane addition to the story. It was like each time Roth described a kiss between them she just hit “control C, control V.” I’m not much a romance sort of gal in stories and it seems to be a key element in many YA books, but sometimes I feel positive about it. I am one of the more negative feeling people when it comes to romance in a book; it is hard to please me when it comes to this element of a story. This piece of the book was a complete letdown for me, because she had built such a great couple in the beginning two books. The part in the middle of the story where the two of them were questioning the solidity of the relationship just seemed like filler to keep the story alive. There was not much to it with those two, and it really disappointed me how unrealistic they acted around each other. The way Tris and Tobias talked to each other seemed so scripted and lifeless, I felt like I was watching a seventh grade play solely earn extra credit when I read these parts.

I’m done bashing the whole Trobias ship now, but not done with the bad stuff about this book. The beginning of Allegiant felt like it was completely separate from the other two books in the series; it was really hard to get into. Roth did not bridge the end of Insurgent well with the beginning of Allegiant.

Overall, I’d give this book a 3.5 out of 5. The reason for this is because there was too much fumbling at the beginning. The gap I felt between the 2nd and 3rd book felt bigger than what is comfortable, which gave me a bad vibe at the start of the book. Also, I’d rather have had Tris and Tobias not even be a thing in this book because their relationship in this book was dead weight. I’m going to get some serious Divergent series fans angry by saying that, but I don’t care. The ending was very well written in my opinion and was surprising compared to many other endings of novels I’ve read lately, and I would give that aspect of the story an A+.

Leave a Reply

