Current Favorite Books

Choosing only a few favorite books is really tough, but I have scrounged together some definite YES’s my current all time favorites.

My all time favorite books are not easy to list. I enjoy many books that I read, so choosing only a few as my favorites seems unfair. But, I will list a couple of my all time favorites that come to mind, but this certainly does not exclude other books that I have read. The order I put these books in is completely random and is not from top favorite to bottom favorite. I hope to add to this list of all time favorites soon!

Harry Potter series – J. K. Rowling

This seven book series is one of the best stories I have ever read for sure. The books seemed to get better and better every time, my favorite being the 5th one, The Order of the Phoenix. Not to mention the movies that went along with them are really, really good. There are some books that I read that are very good but the movies that go along with them get trashed along the way (a great example would be the Percy Jackson series).

Salt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys

I have not read Sepetys debut book Between Shades of Grey, but I have heard great things about it. This book was a fun read for me because of how she wrote it; I am usually not a fan of historical fiction but this book really got my attention. I had read nothing but rave reviews about it so I thought I’d give it a chance. This book will not let you down because of how well she writes the characters to come together. The way she weaves the four main characters to make them all fit equally is amazing, not to mention some pretty interesting historical backstories involved.

Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card

I thought that this book was going to be too intensely science-y for me, but Orson Scott Card was able to make the whole thing exciting. He was able to make a really thrilling book with how he chose his words. I liked how the book ended; it was quite a twist and I would definitely recommend this book if you haven’t read it already.

Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury

This book was a relatively quick read for me- thanks to Bradbury’s great pacing of this book that got me hooked right away. It is very good if you want something that makes you think more. The messages and symbolization of Fahrenheit 451 are riddled in practically every chapter of this book, which made this an even better book.

The Archived – Victoria Schwab

Victoria Schwab’s idea for this world is incredibly creative which was the first thing that drew me in. The blurb on the back cover was written very well to hook me. The first like was “Imagine a place were the dead rest on shelves like books.” Intriguing right? This book was just so surprising the whole time-especially at the end. I won’t ruin anything for you but let me just say that I love plot twists. The second of this series was not as good as the first in my opinion, but I am excited to se what the third book will have in store.

The Young Elites – Marie Lu

I really loved this book because it is such a mind bending idea. The idea of superpowers was not what really got me but how she described them. In most books where a character has powers, the powers come naturally. This book is different because the powers are described as “strings” holding together the world and everything in it. I thought that this was a pretty cool concept; how some people could see these strings and use them to their advantage. I like this series better than Lu’s other series, Legend. The second book of The Young Elites series, Rose Society, is very good also, but not quite as much as the first. I don’t want to spoil anything here, but The Young Elites has awesome PLOT TWISTS. As you can tell, I am a sucker for a good plot twist.

Leave a Reply

