Paper Towns Book Review

I really enjoyed my first ever John Green book, Paper Towns. But then came the ending…

I am starting this post late at night, but you got to do what you got to do when it comes to writing book reviews. I was recommended this book by a friend of mine; I’ve heard a lot of reviews saying you either love the book or you hate it. I’m one of those people in the world who have never read a John Green book, so I had no idea what I was getting into by purchasing this. I’ve said this before in previous posts but I’ll say it again, I’m not much of a romance person *gasp*. I did like this book however because the author, John Green, did not consume the story with romance. I have always heard that John Green has a certain touch when it comes to building an entertaining story around a couple; I was pleasantly surprised when reading Paper Towns for a variety of reasons. It was fantastic because the plot didn’t revolve around the relationship between Margo and Quentin, but really was more about a mystery. Well, fantastic until the extremely sucky end.

SPOILER ALERT: If you haven’t read this book stop reading this review.

The great thing about this book was that it was not overly mushy because the whole “guy gets the girl” thing just happens at the end. I read this book not for the yay, they kissed ending, but for all of the stuff in between. I was hooked at the beginning of this book (good job John Green) from all of the early action. I found the idea of all of the pranks the two main characters (Margo and Quentin) did at the beginning was a bit of a stretch, even for troublesome teenagers. To give you context, at one point during the beginning of the plot, they snuck into some high school senior’s house through the window and shaved off his eyebrow in his sleep. HIS EYBROW! I realize that this is just for comedic relief and to bring a little more entertainment into the story, so I won’t criticize it too much.

Green did a great job introducing all of his characters. He used a very simple but effective way to describe each character, making me feel like I had already known them for years. Deeper into the story, Margo runs away from home and makes a mystery of herself by setting up a series of clues of where she can be found. There is a gap in the story between Quentin and Margo’s night of shaving off seniors’ eyebrows and Margo’s disappearance. I was not at all bothered by this lull in the story because Green covered it well with going into more detail about side characters, specifically Quentin’s two best friends Ben and Radar.

I’m sorry to say this, but the ending of this book left me dissatisfied. John Green could have wrote a single word, “meh” as the last chapter, and I would have been happier. It’s a bit harsh, but the author really took the safe route and wrote the ending that he thought the audience would want. Of course, the readers DO want Quentin and Margo to be a thing, but it should have been written differently. After Quentin discovering where she camped out, she threw a fit like a complete brat, which made me not like her character at all. After her mini meltdown I, and hopefully many other people, thought she was not a very great person. She used and manipulated Quentin’s feelings for her to get attention, and somehow Quentin forgave her. Yeah, yeah, yeah, forgive and forget, right? No. The whole story was ruined, at least for me, because of Margo’s motives for her disappearance.

Overall, I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars; the storyline was all thumbs up until the flop of an ending. I’ve watched the movie “The Fault in Our Stars” but don’t plan on reading the book, so really this is it for me and John Green. I think that he is a great author, but he could have done much better with the way Paper Towns ended. I will probably get some hate about my badmouthing the ending of this book, but it’s the TRUTH.

2 thoughts on “Paper Towns Book Review

  1. I haven’t read the book, but I skimmed through your review to avoid being completely spoiled (since I really want to know your thoughts on it!) XD

    Glad to see that the characters seem likable and not flat! Those are always great essentials 🙂

    I haven’t read any of John Green’s books yet, but I do want to read him. After reading this, I believe I’ll pick this up first.

    Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

